Andhra Municipal Elections 2020: Andhra local body polls begin on March 21

Must Read

Facebook acquires GIF search engine GIPHY

Facebook is buying the popular GIF search engine , with plans to further integrate the GIF library into Instagram and other Facebook apps.

Explained: 5 biggest mistakes startups make in beginning that you must avoid

, the founder of a multinational company, Value Marketing, tells about the 5 biggest mistakes many startups make in the beginning, and how to avoid them.

DigitalOcean raises $50 million in Series C round funding

Software technology firm DigitalOcean said that it has raised $50 million Series C funding round led by Access Industries, with participation from Andreessen Horowitz (a16z).

is all set to take place on March 21 from 7 am to 5 pm. On Monday, State Chief Election Officer N Ramesh Kumar released the notification for elections to 12 municipal corporations and 75 municipalities in the state.

According to notification, the MPTC and ZPTC polls will be held on March 21 and counting of votes will be taken up on March 24. For urban local bodies, polling will be held on March 23 and votes will be counted on March 27.

However, elections to Srikakulam, Rajamahendravaram and Nellore municipal corporations are on hold as delimitation of wards is to be done afresh as per court order. There are 104 municipalities in the state, but elections will be held for 75 and the remaining are pending for similar reasons.

For smooth conducting the local body election, senior IAS officers have been appointed as election observers. They includes: KRBHN Chakravarthi for Kurnool, M Padma – Krishna, P Usha Kumari – East Godavari, PA Shobha – Vizianagaram, K Harshavardhan – Anantapur, T Baburao Naidu – Chittoor, M Rama Rao – Srikakulam, K Sharada Devi – Prakasham, Praveen Kumar – Vishakapatnam, B Rama Rao – SPRS Nellore, P Ranjit Basha – YSR Kadapa, Kantilal Dhandi – Guntur, and Himanshu Shukla for West Godavari,

In addition, four more senior officials – CH Sridhar, G. Rekharani, TK Ramamani and N. Prabhakar Reddy are in reserve to replace any unforeseen absence.

Earlir Kumar had emphasised that Andhra local body elections will be conducted on par with the standards of general elections and the commission will use technology extensively to resolve issues in the process.

These local body election in Andhra Pradesh are being held following a directive by the AP High Court to complete the election process by the end of March.

According to Kumar, 1.20 lakh ballet boxes are readily available in the state and if required, 40,000 boxes will be borrowed from the neighboring Telangana State and 5,000 from Odisha.

Subscribe to receive the day's headlines from Tech Observer straight in your inbox

*The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by Embedding of any link and use of abusive or unparliamentary language are prohibited.
- Advertisement -

Latest in TECH

- Advertisement -SAP Hana

Related Articles