In a latest tech upgrade, technology major Google has announced that its Translate feature will now be able to save users' search history to their Google accounts.
The new feature, which was speculated to be launched as early as 2020 is finally released. As per latest reports tech major has informed Google Translate users about an upcoming policy change in 2020 which is now finally taking place. The tech giant has also recently introduced the first beta version of the Android TV 13 platform.
Earlier, there were reports about a warning prompt that users could see on Google Translate. The warning said that the search history on Google Translate will ‘soon' only be available for the users who are logged into their Google account. Before that, users were able to save individual searches to individual devices, which was good for privacy but wasn't good for continuity across the platforms.
The report also mentions the new prompt that is now showing on Google Translate asks users – to either back up their Translate search history to their Google account, manage their activity logging, or continue using Translate without an account.
Users can also access the app without an account temporarily by tapping their account avatar available in the top-right corner. To switch it up, users need to tap on the down arrow beside their account information.
Users also have to make sure that the Web & App Activity control setting is turned on in their Google account settings if they want to sync their search history to the cloud.
The locally recorded histories stay up-to-date as cloud-synced Translate histories get updated every few hours. For more information, users can check out Google's help page – https://support.google.com/translate/answer/6142480G
However, Google announced the wider user-controlled auto-delete policies and it took two months before users started to see them. Considering this time frame, the new Google Translate feature may also appear for all users in some time.