Former Intel South Asia boss Debjani Ghosh succeeds R Chandrashekhar at

Debjani Ghosh, former MD, Intel South Asia, takes office as NASSCOM President, succeeding R incumbent Chandrashekhar upon the completion of his term.

Must Read

Facebook acquires GIF search engine GIPHY

Facebook is buying the popular GIF search engine Giphy, with plans to further integrate the GIF library into Instagram and other Facebook apps.

Explained: 5 biggest mistakes startups make in beginning that you must avoid

Reza Shojaei, the founder of a multinational company, , tells about the 5 biggest mistakes many startups make in the beginning, and how to avoid them.

DigitalOcean raises $50 million in Series C round funding

Software technology firm DigitalOcean said that it has raised $50 million Series C funding round led by Access Industries, with participation from Andreessen Horowitz (a16z).

, former MD, Intel South Asia, takes office as President, succeeding R incumbent Chandrashekhar upon the completion of his term. Ghosh takes office at a time when the Indian IT-BPM industry touted to be a $167 billion sector is going through strained demand and immense pressure from US government to hire local talent by Indian companies in America.

More recently, Ghosh headed Manufacturers’ Association for Information Technology (MAIT). She has also been a member of NASSCOM’s Executive Council and a trustee of NASSCOM Foundation.

“The technology industry in India has played a phenomenal role in building the India of tomorrow. We are amidst exponential shifts that require exponential change – across businesses, skilling, building innovative solutions with disruptive technologies, connecting the ecosystem of start-ups with that of enterprises, and leveraging technology for social impact. I am honoured to have been given this opportunity at this inflection point for the industry and the country. I look forward to partnering with all stakeholders for more milestones for the industry, which reigns as a frontrunner in today’s era of digital globalization,” stated Ghosh.

At Intel, she was instrumental in developing Intel India’s ‘Digital Nation’ strategy to support India’s digital transformation, focusing on digital literacy, technology innovation, and building strong partnerships across India’s technology ecosystem.

Raman Roy, Chairman, NASSCOM, said, “Over the past few years, the technology industry has witnessed huge disruption across and is currently at the threshold of the next growth curve. Debjani brings invaluable knowledge and experience to the table, and under her leadership I am confident that the industry will scale to greater heights of success.”

In March 2017, the NASSCOM President Succession Committee (NPSC) was constituted by the NASSCOM Chairman to find the new president. The committee was chaired by N Chandrasekaran, Chairman, Tata Sons. The additional members of the committee were Neelam Dhawan, Managing Director, HP Enterprise, Rajendra Pawar, Chairman, NIIT, Rajan Anandan, Managing Director, Google India, Rishad Premji, Chief Strategy Officer, Wipro and Harish Mehta, Cofounder, NASSCOM and CMD, Onward Technologies (Convener).

Subscribe to receive the day's headlines from Tech Observer straight in your inbox

*The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by Embedding of any link and use of abusive or unparliamentary language are prohibited.
- Advertisement -

Latest in TECH

- Advertisement -SAP Hana

Related Articles