In a second major bureaucratic reshuffle, Yogi Adityanath government in Uttar Pradesh has transferred 74 IAS officers (Photo/PRD)
In a second major bureaucratic reshuffle, Yogi Adityanath government in Uttar Pradesh has transferred 74 IAS officers (Photo/PRD)

In a second major bureaucratic reshuffle, government in has transferred 74 IAS officers. Some of the officers who were close to previous Akhilesh Yadav government have been removed and some new officers, especially the ones who have recently repatriated from centre to state have been appointed on key positions.

Shashi Prakash Goyal is now Principal Secretary to the Chief Minister. He is among the five officers who have been repatriated to UP on the request of Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath. Goyal was joint secretary in Ministry of Human Resource Development. He was eligible to be empanelled as additional secretary in government of India. Beside Principal Secretary to CM, he has also been given the charge of civil aviation, estate department and protocol.

Devashish Panda has been removed from the post of Principal Secretary, Home. Panda was appointed by the previous Akhilesh Yadav government and had continued on it despite the new government taking over the reins in March. He has now been made Investment Commissioner and Resident Commissioner of UP in New Delhi, a fairly downgraded post.

Arvind Kumar, an IAS officer of 1988 batch who has been serving as Principal Secretary Revenue & Relief Commissioner has been made Principal Secretary, home. The other key appointee of previous government, Additional Chief Secretary Power, Sanjay Agarwal has been shifted to secondary and technical education. He has been replaced by Alok Kumar, who has recently been repatriated to UP from centre.

On the other hand, 1983 batch IAS officer Sada Kant Shukla who was Additional Chief Secretary, Housing and Urban Planning and Public Works Department is left with PWD only. The charge of Housing and Urban Planning has now been given to Mukul Singhal, an IAS officer of 1986 batch.

Amit Mohan Prasad is now no longer the Investment Commissioner of UP. But he will continue to server as Noida CEO and Noida Metro Rail Corporation’s Managing Director. The charge of the Investment Commissioner has been given to Panda.

Sudhesh Ojha, Director, Information and Public Relations Department has also been removed. also shifted the District Magistrates of Auraiya, Gonda, Faizabad, Lalitpur, Azamgarh, Ballia, Chitrakoot, Sultanpur, Ambedkarnagar, Jaunpur and Kaushambi.

Some senior IAS officers – Rama Raman, Anita Singh and Navneet Sehgal – considered close to the former chief minister Akhilesh Yadav, are still on the waitlist, they have not been given any charges for more than a month.

Nasscom refutes reports of mass layoffs by IT firms in India

If you have an interesting story to share, please send it to [email protected]
Notify of