Thursday, June 30, 2022
Tech ObserverNewsGovernanceYashvardhan Kumar Sinha now Chief Information Commissioner

Yashvardhan Kumar Sinha now Chief Information Commissioner

New Delhi — Former diplomat was appointed as the (CIC) on Saturday, according to a statement from Rashtrapati Bhavan.

President has administered the oath of office to Sinha as the Chief Information Commissioner in the Central Information Commission at a ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan, the communique from President office read.

Sinha who joined as the Information Commissioner on January 1, 2019, replaces Bimal Julka who completed his term on August 26.

Sinha, aged 62, will have a tenure of about three years as the CIC are appointed for a tenure of five years or till they attain the age of 65 years. 

Besides Sinha, the panel headed by Prime Minister has short-listed journalist Uday Mahurkar, former Labour Secretary Heera Lal Samariya and former Deputy Comptroller and Auditor General Saroj Punhani as the Information Commissioners, officials said.

All three will be administered the oath of office by Sinha later in the day, they said.

With the induction of Mahurkar, Samariya and Punhani, the strength of the Information Commissioner will be seven.

At present, there are four Information Commissioners – Vanaja N Sarna, Neeraj Kumar Gupta, Suresh Chandra and Amita Pandove – in the Central Information Commission against the sanctioned strength of 10.

Subscribe to receive the day's headlines from Tech Observer straight in your inbox

- Advertisement -

Your Comment on this Story


Share on activity feed

Powered by WP LinkPress


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Subscribe to our Newsletter

83000+ Industry Leaders read it everyday

By subscribing you agree to our Privacy Policy, T&C and consent to receive newsletters and other important communications.
- Advertisement -ESDS SAP HANA Community Cloud
- Advertisement -Digital Senate 2022


- Advertisement -